Pakistan opener Muneeba Ali was dismissed in controversial fashion during the Women’s World Cup clash between India and Pakistan on Sunday, October 5, at the R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo. Pakistan were
chasing 248 when Muneeba walked out to open alongside Sadaf Shamas, who replaced Omaima Sohail in the playing XI.
Although Muneeba might have been given out leg before wicket had India appealed earlier, her actual dismissal came in a different and contentious manner. On the final ball of the fourth over from Kranti Goud, Muneeba advanced down the pitch. A sharp throw from Deepti Sharma hit the stumps, and while Muneeba had initially grounded her bat, it was in the air when the ball hit the stumps and the baills were dislodged. After a third-umpire review, the decision was confirmed on the big screen as out.
The wicketkeeper-batter appeared visibly frustrated, expressing her displeasure before walking off the field. Meanwhile, Fatima Sana was seen speaking with the fourth umpire near the boundary line, as Pakistan players looked unhappy with the decision. They argued that Muneeba had already completed her stroke and had no intention of taking a run, suggesting she should have been declared not out. The left-hander managed just two runs off 12 balls before her dismissal, continuing a difficult run of form.
The MCC law states that:
30.1 When out of his/her ground
30.1.1 A batter shall be considered to be out of his/her ground unless some part of his/her person or bat is grounded behind the popping crease at that end.
30.1.2 However, a batter shall not be considered to be out of his/her ground if, in running or diving towards his/her ground and beyond, and having grounded some part of his/her person or bat beyond the popping crease, there is subsequent loss of contact between the ground and any part of his/her person or bat, or between the bat and person.
30.2 Which is a batter’s ground
30.2.1 If only one batter is within a ground, it is his/her ground and will remain so even if he/she is later joined there by the other batter.
30.2.2 If both batters are in the same ground and one of them subsequently leaves it, the ground belongs to the batter who remains in it.
30.2.3 If there is no batter in either ground, then each ground belongs to whichever batter is nearer to it, or, if the batters are level, to whichever batter was nearer to it immediately prior to their drawing level.
30.2.4 If a ground belongs to one batter then, unless there is a striker who has a runner, the other ground belongs to the other batter, irrespective of his/her position.
30.2.5 When a batter who has a runner is striker, his/her ground is always at the wicket-keeper’s end. However, 30.2.1, 30.2.2, 30.2.3 and 30.2.4 will still apply, but only to the runner and the non-striker, so that that ground will also belong to either the non-striker or the runner, as the case may be.
Since Muneeba was not running or diving, she was considered to be out of her ground and was given out in accordance with the laws.