With a WrestleMania he’s being counted on to sell coming up in less than a month, Brock Lesnar is available for some appearances. Like his occasional visits to The Pat McAfee Show, Lesnar’s time with former NHL players-turned-podcasters Paul Bissonnette and Ryan Whitley and Barstool Sports’ Mike Grinnell on their Spittin’ Chiclets pod was more hang out than interview. That means Janel Grant’s sex trafficking lawsuit against Vince McMahon and WWE wasn’t brought up when Brock mentioned McMahon, as he did
quite a few times in a conversation that spanned the NCAA, WWE and UFC champion’s remarkable life and career. Lesnar’s alleged awareness of his former boss’ treatment of Grant certainly wasn’t brought up by the hosts.
You probably already know whether you’re the target market for a hockey podcast with Brock Lesnar. Personally, as you no doubt can tell, I have my reservations. But I also have a job, and generally enjoy Lesnar’s work and these glimpses we get of him outside work. Plus, I’m a hockey fan who doesn’t hate bro-y sports hangout shows*.
So I gave it a watch/listen, and these things stuck out to me the most:
A much different WWE than he came up in
He doesn’t exactly frame the changes as being negative, but Lesnar didn’t say the much “softer” backstage environment at WWE was a good thing either. Asked if he was tested by veterans when he first arrived in pro wrestling around the turn of the century, Brock replied:
“Yeah, definitely. I was a shooter, an amateur guy. I had a lot of credentials to my name. Of course I got tested along the way by the old timers. You have to pay your dues. Back then, you paid your dues and you had to get your respect. It’s different now, obviously. Things have gotten a lot softer. There isn’t no more kangaroo courts… It’s different now, but — I go there, I’m the old guy now.”
So we’re guessing Lesnar’s still Team Taker in the generational locker room debate. But more about The Phenom in a sec…
Hockey Dad who just happens to be a combat sports icon
You’re almost as likely to see footage of Lesnar at a rink watching one of his sons Duke or Turk play in Canada’s Junior Hockey system, or at a Winnipeg Jets game. That’s what brought him to Spittin’ Chiclets, and it’s a big part of what Brock says is the only legacy he cares about:
“For me, none of my championships or none of my accolades, they all mean nothing. It means nothing to me. My kids are my legacy. I mean, in today’s dark-ass world that we’re living in, if you can come out and have good kids — I take a lot of pride in that. When parents come to me and say, ‘Man, your boys are really respectful.’ That pumps my tires, you know?”
Lesnar also spoke about the impression many of us have that he’s the same gruff guy we see on Raw. He says that’s not really accurate these days… at least most of the time:
“People see the entertainment Brock Lesnar and they think that that’s who I am, but it’s not who I am. And I don’t let people into my circle enough to know. It’s been a mystique for a long time. But I’m still — I can be an asshole when I want to be.”
Being the guy to break Undertaker’s WrestleMania streak
Not caring about his titles and records, at least in the pro wrestling world, fits what we know about Lesnar’s approach to the business. He said so himself when asked about being selected by McMahon to snap The Undertaker’s legendary WrestleMania undefeated streak at 21 in 2014:
“For me, guys, it’s really simple. Like, this is a business. It’s a business. And I think a lot of guys live and breathe the lifestyle of it. And for Taker — obviously it wasn’t my call to make. At the time, Vince McMahon, if there was a person that could take the streak away with a legitimate background and people could believe it, I guess it was me. There’s a lot of people that are pissed that it’s me, but it’s not my call. And so my hats off to Undertaker, Mark, he’s a great guy. And at the end, it’s a business. It’s a give and take. And it was time for Taker to give — and it was a time for Brock Lesnar to take it.”
That doesn’t mean he was without sympathy for Taker, especially after the Dead Man was concussed during their WrestleMania 30 match:
“He was a mentor of mine. Like, I worked with Taker for many years. And so now we’re out in this match and Taker got hit left field day of. He’s coming to his [22nd] WrestleMania thinking that he’s going to win and then two hours before we go on, the rug gets pulled on him. And so a lot of different emotions there, I’m sure. I was excited, but I also felt bad too. Like, I’m the guy and I get to be the guy.
“So we’re out in the match and next thing I know Taker is not being Taker. It’s a dance out there and you just got to do your best to get through it. And we did. And, yeah, out of respect — because I spent a lot of time with Taker and I wanted to make sure that he was all right. And that’s part of the deal, you know? I did go to the hospital to make sure he was okay. That’s just part of the respect thing.”
Many are calling for Lesnar to do a similar favor for Oba Femi next month in Las Vegas. Related to that…
Brock’s current WWE run won’t be a long one
We don’t know details of Lesnar’s current WWE contract, but we’ve heard more talk about his possible retirement than anything else, which also lines up with his answer about coming at last year’s SummerSlam. :
“I went back to work there so I could feed my kids. You guys should see my grocery bill. I had left the company years ago, and I’m grateful that I’m back for a short time here, so I’m really grateful for all the opportunities that I’ve had in my life.”
So if you flip the channel every time Lesnar’s on, you shouldn’t have to for much longer. If you’re gonna miss Lesnar when he’s gone, enjoy him will you can.
If you can’t decide where you stand on him… Spittin’ Chiclets doesn’t contain many new insights, but maybe an hour of Brock shootin’ the shiz with Biz, Pink, and RA will help you make up your mind. Give it a listen here, or watch it on Netflix here.
* Judge me if you will. I’m a 50-something straight white dude. Much to my family’s chagrin, I yam wat I yam at this point… which includes being someone who still laughs at stuff I found funny 40-odd years ago.









