
Brian Callahan was asked in his press conference after the Tennessee Titans 20-12 loss to the Denver Broncos why he didn’t challenge the deep pass from Cam Ward to Elic Ayomanor that was ruled incomplete. He said it was because Ayomanor only got an elbow in bounds and that he needed to do more for it to be a catch. That is factually incorrect, as Paul Kuharsky laid out here:
To summarize: One elbow equals two feet.
It is really inexcusable for Callahan not to know that is the rule. I have been rooting for Callahan to succeed as the head coach here, but he had a horrible game today. From not knowing this rule to some of the playcalling today – especially the series right before halftime.
With that being said, there is still time for Cally to rebound here. This is just one game in what is a long season. There is still plenty of time for him to prove that he can coach, but he is not off to a good start.
He needs to get it together soon. With the reports that the front office considered a fresh start last offseason, there isn’t much room for Callahan to have games like he did today.