With the ACC Men’s Asia Cup Rising Stars 2025 nearing its half-mark stage, on Sunday, November, the India A side were handed a massive setback as they went down against arch-rival Pakistan A by eight-wicket
margin in Doha. Taking the field after winning their opening game against United Arab Emirates by 148 runs, the Men in Blue went down with the bowlers struggling to put their best show.
While the loss now places them second in the Group B standings, only behind Pakistan A, the match like most of the India versus Pakistan games, was once again marred with controversies. While it all began at the toss when India A skipper Jitesh Sharma snubbed handshake with his Pakistan counterpart, an act which has been going on since the Asia Cup 2025, the match also saw several controversial on-field decisions.
Maaz Sadaqat survives as third umpire overrules Nehal Wadhera-Naman Dhir’s relay catch in IND vs PAK Rising Asia Cup 2025 match
Among many was the controversial catch of Maaz Sadaqat. With Pakistan A looking comfortable in a chase of 137 with a half-century from opener Maaz Sadaqat, the incident unfolded in the 10th over. Sadaqat smashed Suyash Sharma’s delivery in the air over the boundary line, but an incredible effort from Naman Dhir and Nehal Wadhera ensured the ball lands in safe hands. While the duo managed to stop the ball, replays showed a clean catch, but the third umpire denied it all.
While Sadaqat had left the field, the third umpires stunned everyone with his decision, showing not out on the screen as the batter moved back to the crease. Seeing this, the Indian camp was seen fuming at the decision as Jitesh Sharma and other players confronted the umpire. While the ball was adjudged dot, it came after the International Cricket Council (ICC) recently amended the boundary catch rules.
According to the latest regulations as per Law 19.5.2, the player is allowed to go over the boundary line and is allowed to go airborne. However, the landing point after that has to be inside the boundary. In Nehal's case, he did release the ball before crossing the boundary but he landed outside the rope, thus forcing the umpire to nullify the catch.









