India A were left stunned and visibly frustrated during their Asia Cup Rising Stars 2025 clash against Pakistan Shaheens in Doha, after what appeared to be a perfectly executed relay catch was overturned in one of the match's most dramatic moments.
The controversial call arrived at a crucial point in the 10th over of Pakistan's chase, ultimately influencing the game as India A succumbed to an eight-wicket defeat.
Pakistan's in-form batter Maaz Sadaqat mishit a Suyash Sharma delivery high towards the deep boundary. Nehal Wadhera produced a spectacular effort near the rope-not only stopping a certain six, but smartly flicking the ball to Naman Dhir, who completed what many believed was a flawless relay catch.
Television replays confirmed that Nehal
had released the ball before stepping beyond the boundary cushion, prompting even Sadaqat to walk off and sit in the dugout.
It was all happening in Qatar 👀 And things got pretty heated in the middle.
- Sony LIV (@SonyLIV) November 16, 2025
Watch India A take on Pakistan A in #AsiaCupRisingStars2025 - LIVE NOW on #SonyLIV and #SonySportsNetwork TV channels 📺 pic.twitter.com/OZ56KQYxf0
However, to the astonishment of players and spectators, third umpire Morshed Ali Khan signalled not out, prompting Sadaqat to return to the crease. The decision triggered heated exchanges as captain Jitesh Sharma and several Indian fielders confronted the officials seeking clarity. The fourth umpire also engaged in discussions on the boundary line with the Indian support staff during the prolonged interruption.
What baffled viewers further was the fact that the delivery was not ruled a six either-it was recorded merely as a dot ball.
The explanation for the unexpected outcome lies in a new ICC rule introduced in June 2025, involving amendments to Law 19.5.2 relating to boundary catches. The updated law states that a fielder who jumps from outside the boundary to make airborne contact with the ball must land and remain fully inside the field of play until the ball becomes dead. Failure to do so invalidates the dismissal.
In Nehal's case, while he released the ball before touching the boundary and maintained control, his landing position was outside the boundary, which violates the revised regulation. Although the ball itself did not reach the rope-hence not awarded as six-the catch could not be deemed legal under the new stipulation.
The ICC clarified that, "Having done so, they must land and remain wholly within the boundary. This applies even if another player completes the fielding. " As a result, despite India A's exceptional athleticism, the catch was overturned-ultimately proving a pivotal moment in the match.








