Star Pakistan batter Fakhar Zaman was seen arguing with the on-field umpires during their T20I tri-series final against Sri Lanka, after a diving catch taken by him was deemed to be not out in the game
in Rawalpindi.
The incident happened in the penultimate over of Sri Lanka’s innings, with Shaheen Afridi bowling to Dasun Shanaka. The former delivered a slower ball on the stumps, and Shanaka’s flick produced a leading edge toward short third man.
Fakhar, positioned inside the circle, sprinted back and timed a perfect dive to complete what seemed like a clean two-handed catch.
On-field umpires Ahsan Raza and Asif Yaqoob judged it out but referred to the third umpire to see if the ball had touched the ground. Replays showed Fakhar’s wrists brushing the turf, though the ball seemed secure in his palms.
The front-on angle, however, confirmed Fakhar had grounded the ball while completing the dive, leading third umpire Rashid Riaz to rule Shanaka not out. Fakhar was frustrated, with teammates shocked, as he argued he had full control of the catch throughout.
Watch the video here:
شاہین شاہ کی بال پر کیچ آؤٹ نہ دینے پر دوسری بال پر سری لنکن پلئیر کوکلین بولڈ کرنے کے بعد پاکستانی ٹیم کی انوکھی اپیل
Fakhar Zaman Angry pic.twitter.com/i3v2TkCMCD— Saeed Ahmed (@SaeedAhmed33765) November 29, 2025
— h (@hahsmedia) November 29, 2025
The controversy was short-lived. On the very next delivery, Shaheen bowled another clever slower ball and Shanaka swung, missing it as the ball crashed into his leg stump. Shaheen erupted in celebration, roaring and glancing toward the third umpire’s box in a pointed gesture, as if to say this dismissal needed no confirmation. Emotions ran high, with some abusive language exchanged.
Still emotional, Fakhar gestured toward the TV umpire, while Shaheen raised his arms in triumph. Shanaka walked back after scoring just two runs off seven deliveries and Pakistan seized the momentum after the disputed catch.









